The current Hindu Wedding ceremony is evolved from the Vedic period, which historians place between 3000-5000BC. Today's ceremony consists of that core, which is deemed essential by the Vedas (Ancient Hindu Scriptures). A Hindu Wedding Ceremony is a religious occasion in Indian society, just as in any other. It is a collection of rituals performed by the bride, bridegroom, the bride's parents and close relatives from both families. The priest recites "Mantras" (verses) from the holy scriptures "Vedas", originally written in the Sanskrit language.

Step 1 - Wedding Ceremony
Step 2 - Prayers
Step 3 - Message of Goodness (Mangalashtakam)
Step 4 - Giving away of Bride (Kanyadaan)
Step 5 - Joining of hands (Hastamelaap)
Step 6 - Garland to Bride and Bridegroom
Step 7 - Circling the Holy Fire (Mongal Fera)
The bride and groom walk around the fire four times, with the holy fire as witness. Four blessings are given - wealth, good health, happiness, prosperity. The four circles around the fire signify - religion(dharma), wealth(artha), family/children(kaam), salvation(moksha).
Step 8 - Seven Steps Together (Saptapadi)
(7 steps symbolize - ideals, strength & power, health & fortune, happiness, progeny, long life, and spiritual friendship)
Step 9 - Food offering & Saubhagyavati Bhava
Step 10 - Mangal Sutra (Sacred Necklace)
Step 11 - Blessings (Ashirvaadam)

please sign our web-book